It is generally agreed that the amount of waste created by humans today is a worldwide problem. What do you think are the main causes of this situation? What measures can be used to tackle this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, in the world we all are living, one of the problems is the amount of waste created by us. This phenomenon has come as a result of the development of the industry and the increase of human consumption. To resolve this problem the government and the society have to take measures. First of all, the industry has developed a lot worldwide but this comes with its negative aspects. The pollution and the wastes the industry produces have a negative impact for the water, for the soil and as a result for human health. For the production of different crops the industry uses additional pesticides which affect the soil but at the same time people's health by causing various problems such as cancer or autoimmune diseases. In addition, lifestyle has changed and for this reason people consume more than before. They tend to buy more clothes and to throw away many others because of the lack of space in their houses. Nowadays, when people go shopping they do not use their personal shopping bag, but each time they buy a new one. All these products increase the amount of waste and its consequences. However, this important problem should be controlled as soon as possible. Both the government and society have to act to reduce waste created by humans all over the world. The authorities should implement policies for recycling and composting all the wastes industry and society produce. To all the fabrics that have a high risk of pollution they ought to introduce higher taxes, which would force the industry to take measures on waste management. On the other hand, people should be more motivated to buy second hand items and donate used goods, rather than just putting them away. They all have to use reusable grocery bags and not just for groceries but for everything they buy or take home. This will reduce the use of plastic and will help our environment from unnecessary consumption. To sum up, the amount of waste created by humans is an important global problem. The principal causes are the development of industry and the increase of human’s needs and consumption. For reducing this phenomenon, both the authorities and society have to take major actions.