When you learn a foreign langualge ,all four skills (listening ,reading ,speaking and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning a new language become more popular. People often travel the world while local languages can bring benefits on communications. Some said that the skills between listening, speaking, reading and writing are all crucial in a language. In my point of view, I do not think that these skills are equally significant while speaking take a more responsibility in communications. Listening and speaking are more necessary technique than the other two in aquire a new language, as these are the keys to help people communciate with others in a non-familiar place. Most of the problem could be solved when asking locals for help in a trip. For instance, when you get lost in travelling other country, approach to the locals for assitance could be a faster way than searching on map with words or sign that are not familiar with. Although reading and writing are also part of the essensial to form a language, which are more often to appear in an acadamic use. It is still availble to understand signs and graphs in a foreign country. For example, in the same situation that getting lost in a foreign place, graphes graphics and icons could be the priority before words. Because countries are usually providing signs for tourism on landmarks. In conclusion, all four skills in learning new languages are important, but speaking and listening are the keys for communication, while reading and writing are an advanced way of acadamical use. Language is a tool for people to explore the world with other cultures, as every place are getting more globalized. It is also a pensonal preferance for people to value which skill between four are the most crucial or equal.