In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are areas in the World, where youth is stimulated to have a break between a school and a university in order to work or travel. Supporters of this idea believe, that it has positive impact on maturity of teenagers. However, some people argue against this practice because students may lose academic performance after the break. On the one hand, an individual, who spend a year at a work or in a travel after getting secondary education, makes more conscious choice about a university major. This is because the interacting with a superviser, colleagues and customers gives new experience, making youngsters more aware about different professions. To illustrate that, the research shows, that people, who ware working after schools and graduated universities later, did not give up studying or change profession. In my case, unfortunately, I continued education after the high school and choose the major, which I have not used in my life. On the other hand, the break from studying process may decrease the ability and the desire to achieve the higher education. Working or travelling may completely change the way of thinking and the attitude toward studying. Former students may understend, that it is not necessary to prepare for exams all nights long, it is easier to find a job and work till 6 PM, having lasure time after it. Another crucial reason of not to have a brake is losing the pace of studing because brain easily loses performance to digest knowlege if we give it a long pause. In conclusion, it is the controversial question, should young people have a year for such activities and pause their way of study. Despite of opponents, who highlight possibility of loosing skiils of passing exams because of a breake break, supporters argue that the conscious decision after a pause is more important.