Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

With the popularity of electronic devices progressively increasing, there are many concerns about their adverse influences on individuals. One of them is whether depending highly on them to commnuicate will impair people's writing and reading skills. In my view, on the one hand, this concern is not without reasons; on the other hand, it should not be disproportionately emphasised. First, people cannot escape the reality that the increasing reliance on electronic devices in communication is imparing imparting individuals' literary skills. This has been demonstrated by a research conducted by Modern Language Association(MLA), a thinktank in the USA, that currently, people are increasingly dependent on "stickers" in daily conversations to convey their emotions. In another word, they are losing the ability to express themselves in words, which should have been a fundamental competence in a democratic nation like the USA, where people need to expound their feelings and opinons when arguing for their own rights. This phenomenon has reasonably raised the common concern that the degeneration of literary skills brough by electronic devices is undermining the country's political cornorstones cornerstone. Although the worry sounds plausible, adhering to this kind of technology conservatism is not conducive to stepping out of the dilemma that we need use electronic devices in daily communication, while the side-effect of the usage is jeopardising people's writing and reading skills, and even the foundation of a representative nation. Therefore, perhaps we should forsake the preconception that the writing and reading skills that originate from the paper-age is superior to the expressive approaches deriving from net-age. A Harvard researcher, David Thomas, has claimed that what matters is whether we clearly deliver our ideas, not with certain carriers. In light of this, the preferrance for literary skills is more of a ungrounded obsession with habits. In summary, from my perspective, the usage of electronic devices is indeed impairing people's writing and reading skills. However, I am inclined to view this as a necessary progress of exploring new efficient communication skills in a net-age, and therefore people need not constantly lament the loss of writing and reading skills.