Some people find smartphones nothing but annoying gadgets, breaking communication between family or friends. Others find them quite otherwise. What is your personal opinion?

It is not too much to say that technology, per se, has made us what we are, master of the universe, ranging from control of fire at first to state-of-the-art inventions, e.g., aeroplanes and smartphones. These technologies, whether tangible or intangible, have dramatically allowed our lives to become more convenient.  Admitting that there is always the other side of the coin of advantages and disadvantages, the answer varies from person to person, depending on value systems or personal traits. All in all, I agree that smartphones could break our communications for two reasons. First and foremost, the advent of smartphones has made our communications worse. According to a recent article in the New York Times, today, the number of face-to-face communications is significantly reduced compared to the data in 2000 due to many people using chat services only, for example, Instagram and What’s Up, however, which lack facial expressions and context. Thus, relying on chat apps causes more conflicts and misunderstandings with others. Secondly, but not less importantly, smartphones have made us reduce time spent with families. Take my experience, for instance, when I was a middle school student without my own smartphone; I frequently shared my experiences in school with my parents. In contrast, since getting it, I have rarely talked and stayed with them because smartphones offer me a lot of entertainment, such as YouTube. Therefore, I believe that smartphones make family relationships break down. In conclusion, while the development of smartphones has made our lives convenient, relying on them could lead to a lack of communication and time with families or friends. I believe it is essential to reconsider relationships with smartphones to boost our connection rather than interrupt it.