There have been more and more traffic issues in cities. One of the best ways to solve this problem is to set the city fee for those who drive onto some specific congested roads. Do you agree or disagree?

In the fast-paced world, traffic congestion has become a major problem in town areas. Most people suggest that one solution to overcome this issue is to charge driving fees. This strategy may not be the best way as it can lead to negative results and there are other effective solutions. One reason to prove that driving fees do not sustainably solve road issues is that it can affect individuals who need to use personal vehicles due to their daily activities located in limited areas to access public transportation. When the city implements this method, it may cause disappointment and dissatisfaction among residents. For instance, the India land transportation department reported that a number of complaints from road users sharply increases when applied fees for the high traffic demand routes. Additionally, people argued that road infrastructure and traffic mobility are not improved compared to high revenue acquired from fees. Moreover, instead of charging fees, the governments should examine the other practicable options by developing, expanding, and well-maintaining comprehensive public transport systems such as a local bus route, bike lanes, and pedestrian walkway. Those approaches can encourage individuals to leave their cars at home, resulting in dramatically decrease road traffic. For example, according to Canada that launched the programs claiming that 98% of traffic jams have been reduced. In addition, utilizing smart traffic light technologies that significantly manage traffic flow aligned with road demand will eliminate traffic flow rate problems. All in all, the long-lasting way to take over traffic issues in cities should focus on benefits for citizens. While setting the fees will have unintended consequences, executing transportation infrastructure and technology can lead to positive outcomes.