In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people's life expectancy has increased owing to the development of the society. The trend of the ageing population becomes a significant debate among the individuals. Some people believe that this phenomenon could cause inconveniences to the governments, while others claim that this trend gives a positive effect to the society. In my opinion, the ageing population brings more disadvantages than its advantage. An ageing population inflames more burdens to the society. For facing the growth of elderly people population, governments need to appropriate more fonds in the field of medical healthcare, resulting in a large expense and amplifying the tax burden of the citizens. The authorities need to implement more policies to protect the elderlies such as establishing more elderlies healthcare centers, allocating welfare to those in need and reinforcing the retirement guarantees. All of these could be a burdensome for the society. Furthermore, an ageing population could be attended by the lost of overall productivity of the civilization. Ageing people have more possibilities to be removed from the workforce system as their body condition might be a problem for work. As a result, less workforce could be provided to meet the society's demand, leading to an instability for the overall industry. In conclusion, I firmly believe that an ageing population is indeed an issue we should deal with. Not only it causes the increase of the finance burden of the government but also leads to a decline of working prodictivity productively. In sum, I don't agree with its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.