Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

It is said that a large number of people are not familiar with their neighbors these days. This trend is caused by the increasing desire for privacy and being involved in busy lives, which can be addressed with some solutions. One significant reason that many individuals avoid knowing their neighbors is the preference for personal privacy. They are more interested in texting or calling through online platforms like Facebook or WhatsApp, rather than face-to-face communication. They prefer not to have interaction with their neighbors because they find it intrusive, and believe that if they know their neighbors, they may frequently come to their door to ask help or to discover personal affairs. This can lead to a dramatic decline in socialization between neighbors. Another reason could be that many individuals are so engrossed in their busy lives that they rarely have time to communicate with their neighbors. Those who have a lot on their plates, should prioritize their tasks and it often seems hard to make a balance between work and other activities they think are time-consuming. A possible solution is to organize events and activities in order to provide neighborhood gatherings. Attending in these gatherings, brings diverse opportunities not only to know the nearby residents, but also to benefit from fun activities with them. For example, they can plan to do their daily exercise together. Furthermore, it is advantageous to establish volunteering services among a neighborhood to encourage helping each other to achieve similar goals. Neighbors can freely participate in programmes to do whatever they are handy in, including repairing kitchen pipes, gardening, and painting walls. Thus, neighbors can have effective conversations and interactions to reach the same goals, utilizing their shared environment. In conclusion, the growing need for privacy and people’s busy lives are both important reasons for being unfamiliar with their neighbors. However, planning common events and activities, and setting volunteering services among nearby residents can be considered as good solutions.