More and more people are buying things on the internet like air tickets, books and groceries making online shopping more popular with every passing day. Does the advantages of such shopping outweighs the disadvantages?

On the past decade, throgh though the fast pace of technological progress, buying goods and services through digital platform has become very common. This phenomenon has bring lots of conveniences to society while at the same time indirectly helping the environment. Meanwhile, its abusive usage has increase consumerism and turned the marketplace into a place with an unfavorable pricing situtation. One of the proponent of online shopping is definitely the idea of getting the things that we need at the comfort of our home. We no longer have to buy the product at the mall or brick at mortar store, which really assist us as we do not have to put much effort to get it. Furthermore, digital market also support the nature, since its economies of scale effectively bundles the delivery into one big basket rather than divide it, that makes it required less transportation fuel to distribute the item. On the other hand, the increase in convenience makes people more likely to buy things that they do not really need. This situation will likely to increase waste, which will be detrimental to the people as we are using our limited resources to make unncessary items. In addition, it is well known that sellers in the digital marketplace tend to do predatory pricing to outperformed Change the form of the verb outperform show examples their rivals. When their competitors are gone, they will increase the price to cover their previous loss, much worse they will charged the price very expensive as customers no longer have any alternatives. At the end, much of the sellers and buyers end up at the losing side. In conclusion, the advantage of online shopping through its convenience and environmental may outweight the negative aspects related to consumerism and unsustainable pricing. Nevertheless, society needs to be responsible on its usage, so at the end everybody will gain the benefit from it.