Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions regarding who should be responsible for teaching the children how to act the best in the society. Ones suggest that family is the primary source of learning social skills, however the other opinion is that schools and teachers play the leading role here. On one hand, children of school age spend a significant amount of time in the education facilities communicating with teachers as well as other students. Given quite a large number of classmates and their different background, pupil learn for a team work, to listen to a different opinions and acquire problem solving skills that are required to be good members of society. Moreover, in most schools there are such disciplines as ethics, history, where children can acquire knowledge of different social behaviour. In addition, school can offer additional social events, for example volunteering. This adds additional experience on various social models. On the other hand, parents are the main people in child‘s life from the very beginning. Starting from the early childhood, kids try to be alike to their parents and mimic their behavior. Parent‘s values, such as kindness, empathy, responsibility, willingness to support others influence as well child‘s attitude. Mother and father are the main people who know their children best and during daily comunication can make impact on children ‘s values. It‘s worth noting that children learn from the examples, so parents values are communicated to the children throughout daily activities. In conclusion, even though a school and teachers have a significant role in child‘s social education, I think that the family‘s role here is crucial. In my opinion, the main values and learn come from the family and school has a supportive role.