More and more parents allow their children to play on computers as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development overweigh the disadvantages?

Many parents allow their children to use a computer because they think it is important to learn technology. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because they can use a computer to learn many things on the internet and this essay will elaborate it. On the one hand, a computer can be utilized for education such as self-learning and people can use it to enhance their skills and knowledge. This is due to the fact that many websites or applications provide videos or online labs that teach many things. Coursera, an online learning platform, for example, not only provides thousands of videos and online courses from various universities, but also it can be accessed easily so it gives people chances to study different topics as they want. As a result, it can be a better additional education method. On the other hand, the drawback is many PC games and websites show violence and adult content. Moreover, it can be harmful if parents leave them unsupervised because children are prone to follow what they see. There was a tragedy in Indonesia, for instance, where a teenager killed his underage neighbor because they felt annoyed by them, and he testified that he was inspired by a computer game that he played. Thus, it is paramount to supervise them while they are on the computer. To conclude, a computer can be utilized to access many learning platforms and they can make education more accessible. However, there is a drawback such as many inappropriate contents can be accessed through a computer, hence, it can be solved by supervising children while they use it. Therefore, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.