Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believed that government responsible for the avability of public transport. In this essay I will explain two reasons why I agree to this statement. On the one hand, free public transports have many advantages for the society so the government should allocate their budget to it. First benefit of public transports is that it help to reduce traffic in important parts of the city. As a result, it would reduce the time needed to travel from one place to another and it could help people to allocate their time better. Secondly, electric trains could decrease the carbon footprint that also lead to better air and environment. And lastly, by using free buses or trains, people does not need to spend their money to buy a car or motorcycle so they could spend it for another matters. Thus, it is important for the authority to make free public transports as it could raise people willingness to use it. On the other hand, mass transports built by a private company might lead to a big problem. The lack of regulation will leave the company to set the price as they please without the consequense consequences of giving sufficient security and good facility. For example, once in my hometown in Indonesia, there was a public transport operated by small company called 'Angkot', a modified car enough for 10 to 12 passengers and serve short trips. It has pricing problem that keeps on raising. Besides, there are no serious solution to solve its thieves problem as the company and the authority didn't care much. To sum up, public transportations have economic and environment benefits for society. It is also need full support from the regulator as being controlled by private sectors is not favourable.