Some people would agree that a fixed punishment might make the justice system more efficient. I would like to explore the pros and cons of the fixed penalties and try to determine if it is a working solution.

First, I will go through some of the advantages for the fixed punishments system. For example, predetermined options for a variety of crimes may be more fair for people on trial. In addition, I think that it is really important to have a system to make sure, that a thief will not get a higher punishment than a murderer. Also, the judge is a big part of a trial, so personal feelings and circumstances could play some role in the final decision, and this liability might be eliminated by the fixed penalties system. Another advantage could be that the fixed penalties might decrease a work load for the justice system, free time for more twisted cases where this system would not work properly. There is no perfect solution where human nature is involved, and because of this, the fixed punishment system has its own disadvantages as well. As an example, each crime is unique, every person may have their reasons or special circumstances which made them to commit a crime. Furthermore, it would be close to impossible to create a list of fixed punishments for each and every crime and add additional points for everything. In conclusion, fixed punishments could possibly help in a lot of cases, but should not be mandatory to follow. In my opinion, the justice system can treat it as a strong recommendation, but always pay attention to the special circumstances for each case.