“Art should only be considered legitimate if it is profitable” Discuss the statement and give your opinion.

It is believed that any form of artwork can only be counted as valid if a profit can be made. This essay will present why I fully disagree with this idea. To begin with, profitability can be a measure of success for an artistic piece. For example, the Mona Lisa, one of the most successful artwork in the world, by Leonardo da Vinci is estimated to be worth at least two billion USD. Da Vinci always had a keen eye for details, which translated to many vibrant or subtle details in the Mona Lisa’s design. However, relying on profitability as a sole determiner of legitimacy does not take into account other significant factors behind artworks. For instance, during both World Wars, many countries employed the strategic use of artists to create illustrations that helped boost morale. Such propaganda posters, as they are called today, worked effectively and its effects is still present today with the popular myth about carrots being an anti-Nazi propaganda. Although these posters did not generate any monetary value yet they are generally considered art with those made by the late USSR highly sought after for their iconic designs. Therefore, legitimate art does not necessarily equal profitability. In addition, if art is only legitimate if it can be profitable then it will lose its inherent values. One way a huge profit can be made from art is through industrialisation where they can be mass produced. An instance can be seen with ceramics. Ceramicists were highly regarded for their creative and stunning artworks through manipulation of clay because of its high volatility. However, during the late 1970s, slip casting was employed in ceramic making, turning it into a low-cost, high profitability product sold en masse. Although highly profitable, critics argue that this highly industrious process used to make modern ceramic does not constitute art but simply another commodity. Furthermore, profit being used as a measure of legitimacy can invalidate the goal of non profit art organisations. For instance, American for the Arts (AFTA) is one of such organisations whose goal is to raise awareness and create funds for all forms of art, from different civilisations. This mission is especially important in America where society still feels the effects of segregation and racial discrimination. By forcing AFTA and other similar organisations to be profitable for legitimacy’s sake, their goals will be invalidated, potentially leading to the loss of many art genres. In conclusion, with the aforementioned reasons, art legitimacy should not be based on profitability. In my opinion, this is especially true when art is an expression of individual perspective which can be controversial to some but highly appealing to others.