Some people think that development of technology helps to reduce crime, while others think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether the development of technology will reduce the occurence of crimes or otherwise has been a hot topic on the Internet. In my view, regarding to crimes, the advancement of technology is a double-edged sword. On the one hand, technology does significantly lower the possibility of committing crimes. One compelling example is the widespread application of monitors, especially in some autocracies, like North Korea or Cuba. In these countries, monitors with the function of facial recognition are omnipresent that any criminal intention of anyone can be predicted by their governments. Therefore, if purely measured by ciminal rates, the advancement of technology in these countries has indeed make notable contributions, though at the cost of ordinary people's freedom. This illustration may incidently discover a frustrating reality that when striving to ameliorating social security, governments are inclined to achieve the goal by utilising the development of technolohy to deprive ordinary people's privacy and freedom. Nevertheless, it is irrefutable that the development of technology is condusive to the amelioration of social secruity. However, as the essay have mentioned, the progress of technology could also further exacerbate social security. The emergence of Bitcoin is a typical example. Bitcoins are kind of virtual monetary, whose most essential characteristc characteristics is its anonymity, making Bitcoins an ideal approach to avoid financial regulation. Currently, according to a report from BBC, Russia is leveraging Bitcoins to escape economic sanctions on it by the West for its invasion of Ukraine. The example has adequately demonstrated that although the progress of technology itself is neutral, when utilised by criminals, it could severely jeopardise the stability and security of a society or a nation. Hence, there is strong demand for governments to actively prepare themselves for this kind of potentials, particularly when given the rapid development of AI, a potent tool. In summary, the advancement of technology is a double-edged sword. On the one hand, it to some extent can sacrifice freedom or privacy to significantly reduce crimes; on the other hand, it can also stimulate crimes when legislators or regulators do not notice new threats brought by new development.