In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Many individuals consider that having an aging population is a challenging issue for governments due to wasted national budgets and the expectation for younger families to provide care for them. However, the existence of older people brings benefits such as inspiring younger people, and a large aging population proves the success of a country's prosperity. This essay will explore the benefits of a large number of unproductive ages in society but also explain the drawbacks of their existence, with examples and a rational conclusion. First of all, older people can be an inspiration to younger people who lack life experience. In contemporary society, the rise of the quarter- life crisis trend is caused by pressures of professional lives and also of their families. Seeking advice from older people about the dynamics of life can give valuable solutions to younger people's problems. For instance, complications in work and family life, such as marital disputes and the complexities of raising children, often arise; consulting the older generation is one of the best ways to address them. Moreover, having a long life expectancy shows that the government has provided prosperity for its population, due to health and happiness. The drawbacks associated with having a large aging population are the increasing financial burdens on the government. The invisible truth is that older people are not productive workers, so the government has to facilitate their health even though they are not part of the workforce. For instance, as people get older, their physical performance begins to decrease, so the government has to provide subsidies or free medicine and treatment. Furthermore, another problem is that their children have a responsibility to care for them, so they have to balance their time between their work and family responsibilities. In conclusion, there are advantages to society: older people can inspire younger people in complicated life situations and also serve as an indicator of societal prosperity. However, there are disadvantages, including the burden on national finances to care for them and the problems faced by their children in providing such care.