Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Watching television is regarded as an effective study method by the majority because audio-visual information can draw attention and engage interest easily. I disagree with encouraging children to watch TV, although some TV programmes have educational value. Watching TV will interfere children with studies, as well as keep away them from activities concerning personal development. Watching TV may also distract children's attention, especially without the supervision of their parents. Students watching TV frequently have difficulty concentrating on academic assignments, thus leading to poor grades. In addition, those students hardly attend interactive activities, such as reading, singing and communicating, that facilitate brain development. Secondly, long screen time prevents children from social development. They spend hours in front of the TV, instead of playing games with their friends or communicating with their parents. As a result, they become solitary, unwilling to share ideas with the other or understand others. Without communication skills, it is difficult for students to gain knowledge, draw upon ideas and achieve academic success. On the other hand, I agree that watching TV has educational outcomes under some content easy to comprehend. For example, historical documentaries enable children to learn historical events easily due to visual images while listening to history lectures is sometimes boring. Another example is that foreign language channels make the painful English learning process easy by watching the daily communication of native speakers. In conclusion, teachers and parents should impose restrictions on TV watching rather than promote this habit. Watching TV will have a negative effect on children's studies, although sometimes it can be a teaching aid.