Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, some universities provide individuals with distance learning opportunity by introducing online cources sources. Personally, I believe that this phenomenon have equal advantages and disadvateges. On the one hand, it is understandable why people find distance learning desirable. Firstly, online courses offer a more hassle-free education. In other words, people do not need to waste a significant amount of their time commuting between the university and their dwelling; which in turn, enables them to allocate their energy and time to the course. Secondly, these courses are more flexible in terms of time and location. While on-campus courses demand the physical presence of students, online materials can be accessed from any place. This means that individuals can enjoy the comfort of their bed while listening to a lecture. Moreover, these classes can be easily taped and repeated afterward, enabling students to access the material whenever they desire. On the other side of the scale, studying online has several detrimental effects on individuals ' learning ability and mental health. Firstly, Using digital devices increases the propensity towards superficial studying. This happens because the very moment that students open their laptops or mobile phones, they are bombarded with pings and notifications. These distractions ultimately reduce one's attention span, motivating them to swap their deep-reading habits for skimming, which ultimately hinders their learning ability. Moreover, studying from screens can not replicate on-campus class interactions. This method of learning deprives students of cementing meaningful relationships with their peers and professors, without which one's mental health is endangered. As a result, the extended amount of isolation that individuals spend on screens triggers depression and other mental issues. In conclusion, participating in courses on the internet comes with its fair share of benefits and downturns, which I believe hold equal gravity.