Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that literature has been an important part of human life since the beginning of civilizations. However, there is an argument that doubts the benefit of starting to study readings such as novels and poems in high school. I have a balanced view of this statement. Examining the idea that supports having literature as a subject in high school, educational institutions must accommodate their students ' future career aspirations, and one of them is being a writer. Moreover, by being a writer, an individual is required to delve into readings. Starting to hone one's skills in literature since high school can be beneficial because this initiative prepares one for their college term, and later supports their professional career. Furthermore, each person excels in different things and therefore we cannot force them to study science and math intensively. Additionally, high school is a proper educational stage for an individual to explore and choose their favorite subject, and there is nothing wrong with introducing literature to them. On the other hand, it is better to make literature an extracurricular activity rather than a mandatory subject. The reason is that there is no benefit for students who are interested in subjects such as mathematics and science. Moreover, making the literature subject mandatory will consume students ' time to foster their knowledge in other subjects. A good case in point is that when there is a student who wants to apply for a bachelor's in engineering program, this student needs to foster their knowledge in the engineering field instead of studying Javanese poems that do not deliver any technical knowledge. At its core, it is important to consider that high school is one of the capstones that are closely related to one's professional career; therefore, the most beneficial decisions are the ones that accommodate the students ' passion.