Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

It is quite common these days that the young are much influenced by peer pressure. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of peer pressure and provide a logical conclusion. Peer pressure can lead to healthy competition among youngsters and encourage them to push themselves to be better. Firstly, healthy competition among peers can motivate individuals to strive for excellence. This way, they can push themselves to achieve their full potential. For example, two friends, Alex and Ben are both on the school’s track team and they push each other to train harder and run faster. This friendly rivalry helps them both improve their skills. Secondly, young people have opportunities and environments to develop themselves better. In fact, if young people are surrounded by good people, they can learn from them such as trying anything new or discovering new ideas to help them overcome some difficult problems. However, peer pressure also has some major disadvantages like anxiety and depression and rivalries between friends. In fact, working or studying with better students can make young people uncomfortable. For example, when I study in a class with a lot of classmates who learn much better than me, I feel very pressured and ashamed. What’s more, such pressure sometimes leads to unhealthy competition that turns friends into enemies. Young people, whose friendships are often fragile and easily broken, may find themselves feeling isolated and stressed due to intense competition with peers. This heightened vulnerability can make them more susceptible to the negative influences of peer pressure, potentially leading to depression. However, if young people learn to manage their friendships and competition in a healthy way, they can avoid the negative effects of peer pressure. To conclude, although peer pressure has certain disadvantages like feel pressured and ashamed and conflicts between friends, it has an extremely positive impact on personal developments and provides healthy competitions for teenagers. I believe that those benefits of peer pressure exceed its drawbacks.