School curriculum has become more flexible in many countr ies. Some people argue that students should be given a right to choose what they study in school. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

There is no doubt that a robust education system is required to improve a nation's future generation. Some people believe that allowing pupils to manage their learning program is necessary, while others argue that students must follow a fixed curriculum. I strongly support the former view. Having a flexible learning program enables students to allocate significant amount of time intesively to their favorite subjects. For instance, if a student excels in science-based subject such as chemistry and biology, they will be able to spend their time to delve into it further. This initiative is very beneficial, especially for high school students, because it enables them to make informed decisions about their tertiary education. On the one hand, this learning model can reduce the figure of students experiencing unfit major. For example, there is a research conducted by Indonesian Ministry of Education unfolds the truth that roughly 90% of Indonesian college students are facing difficulties in pursuing their bachelor's degree. Furthermore, 80% of them are working in the fields that are different with their discipline. Henceforth, the flexible learning model allows pupils to explore a variety of disciplines, and then decide which subjects are suitable for them. To sum up, both views concern about whether they can deliver satisfied professional lives by allowing students to explore their talents. I strongly encourage the idea of implementing flexible curriculum in schools.