Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Tourism is booming in many countries. Some believe that it brings great benefits to society as it boosts the economy and creates job opportunities. While some others argue that the tourist industry may potentially harm the environment as it generates much more carbon footprint than the earth cannot handle in long-term. While I believe tourism brings both opportunities and challenges in contemporary society. Tourism brings many advantages in boosting the economy, preservation of cultural heritages and encouraging the development of the entertainment industry. In many countries, tourism is one of the most important industries that contributes the economic growth. It boosts the economy in retail, infrastructure, hospitality and creates job opportunities for many people. For example, in Thailand, New Zealand and in Singapore, tourism are isthe the main engine for GDP growth, which contributes substantial tax revenue for the government, which in turn is used for local development and investment. In addition, the encouragement of tourist industry may help local people to better preserve the cultural heritages. Income from tourists can be used for the maintenance of ancient buildings, arts and museums. As a result, local people could take this opportunity to preserve antient buildings and paintings, so as to understand their own culture deeply and comprehensively. On the flip side, the opponents argue that travel causes environmental damage. Public transportation such as airlines, trains and buses are the main sources of carbon footprint, which may cause environmental degradation and harm the natural habitats. For example, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia is overly reliant on tourism, with a large influx of visitors leading to damage to the local ecological environment., the biodiversity decreased, and a lot of marine creatures suffer. Moreover, over-relay on tourism leads to economic vulnerability. An economic downturn is likely to occur with in countries that have simple structure economy such as those experienced during the COVID pandemic. Overall, tourism has advantages in stimulating economic growth and creating job opportunities, it also poses challenges in degrading the environment and causecauses uncertainty to the economy. Striking the balance between the tourist industry and the structure of the economy will lead to a brighter future for a healthy economic structure.