Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is causing damage to the environment and should be stopped now. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two different views on whether economic growth is the only way to solve global poverty and food shortages, or whether it should be banned immediately because of the cause of the damage it causes to the environment. From my perspective, I will discuss both of views and give my own opinion. First of all, the growing economy can figure out the problem of starving. Since the economic growth, the government may received lots of money and it will be given to the poor as financial help. With the help of the finance, the households may have ability to consume the daily stuff and food in order to solve the problem of hunger. Secondly, producers can reproduce the products by increasing the economy. It can bring the industries back to life and the companies can provide the jobs for unemployed people. Since people can receive the salaries which will deal with the problem of poverty. We have to admit that the growth of the economy can cause the problem of environmental damage. With the production of the industries which are used for promoting the economy, pouring the industrial waste water can be one of the most serious problem which affects the environment. However, this problem can be solved by using the means of law. Using the strict method like fining the factories can see a dramatic decrease on the damage of the environment. Moreover, after the growth of the economy, the advanced techniques can be invented which can play an important part in the environmental friendly. So the economic growth can’t be stopped. To sum up, I agree with the former one. I believe that the economic growth cannot be banned and it is the only way to deal with the poverty and hunger.