Topic- Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages for Children. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant example from your knowledge.Topic- Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages for Children. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant example from your knowledge.

It is undeniable that the increasing usage of television by teenagers is one of the most challenging issues of our time. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of television and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of watching television are learning from educational shows and strengthening family bonding. Firstly, Educational shows can help children to learn about letters, numbers, colours and social skills. Shows like Dora can help children develop their cognitive skills and sense of wonder. Secondly, watching TV together can help families create shared experiences. This way, children spend more time with their parents which helps to make a healthy bond. However, television also has some major disadvantages like sleep problems and physical inactivity. Children who watch TV may have problems falling asleep, watching their favourite shows late at night can lead them to have problems waking up early for school. Furthermore, Watching television can reduce physical activity. For instance, it can lead to obesity. To conclude, although television has certain disadvantages like insomnia and inactivity, it has an extremely positive impact on children's schooling and family relationships.