More and more plastic waste is polluting the world’s cities, countryside and oceans. What problems does this cause? What measures could be taken to solve them?

In the modern era, pollution is a pressing issue and out of many pollutents plastic is one of the main pollutent pollutants deteriorating the urban, rural and marine life. This essay will try to delve into a few effects of it and solutions to this problem. To begin with, first and foremost, it is polluting soil. In fact, plastic is a non-biodegradable waste, because it does not decompose naturally. Therefore, it is causing problems like unclean surroundings and harming earth's productivity. For example, in Delhi, Azadpur dump site, has been deteriorating soil health and converting the productive land to barren land slowly. Thus, plastic, which is a major component of daily waste is polluting fertile soil. Adding more to it, it is polluting water bodies and posing danger to the marine ecosystem. Indeed, many people round the globe discard waste into the water bodies, which ultimately ended-up in oceans. The plastic in its different forms such as bottles, polythin, straws etc, when ingulfed by aquatic animals, it harms their health and in a few situations, it may kill them too. To illustrate, according to a survey report, about 23 per cent of marine creatures die, because of plastic thrown into the water bodies. Hence, it is harming sea animals by polluting their natural habitats. In order to tackle this issue, authorities must promote biodegradable plastic, which can easily decomposes into the soil and it could help to reduce soil contamination. Moreover, governments must frame strict laws against disposal of the plastic commodities. Lastly, we must educate commoners about bad effects of plastic and we must look for other alternatives such as jute bags, glass bottles etc. To sum up, undoubtedly plastic is one of the primary factors in soil and water pollution and to ameliorate it's bad effects, we must use biodegradale plastics, implements strict laws to control the disposal and promote use of alternatives to the plastic.