In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the advantages of video surveillance outweigh the disadvantages?

To make socities cities more safe and sound, various places have introduced video cameras. To keep an eye at most of places, incidents and crimes happening in and around the cities. However, there are some people who think that this way can actually become a pause for the freedom of many. But I ponder that benefits of having these devices are outweighing its loopholes which I will try to discuss in upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, having surveillance around will not only give the residents a feeling of relief and being safe but will make criminals think twice before doing any harm to the property or to mass. If still, any incident occurs then police can actually check these devices and footage to go to the root cause and individual involved. For example, at my work, in childcare centre, there was suspicious man loitering around, cause the children's safety was involved, the man was tracked though the CCTV cameras and was caught for roaming around a private property without any purpose. Thus, it shows having closed-circuit television cameras are quite significant. Secondly, these can actually make people more concerned and anxious owning to that fact they are being watched. Furthermore, it can actually bring the feeling of being prisioned or caged. Plus, an individual have to do things consciously so that they do not leave any informaion that can end up in wrong hands. For instance, there are a lot of shops and restaurant with CCTV, which can actually use old video to see credit card details and can use those details to do a scam and get money out for their own purpose. Hence, there is need to be attentive in that type of area. To conclude, I believe though some disadvantages seems to effect humankind still advantagages give us enogh confident to use technology for promising safety and well being. There need to keep in mind that feeling a little conscious or unfree is okay sometime if you feel secured and unafraid.