Sociologists opine that social networking websites can have a negative impact on society as they can be used to spread false information. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently it is very easy for people to access information online, Sociologists say that social networking websites can have a negative effect on society because they can lead people to false information. Although I support that people need to be more cautious using their social media platforms, such as Facebook, I do not think that social networking websites are one hundred per cent bad. There are many social media platforms recently, and some people are aware that using social media needs to be more careful because it can lead to false information or even worse, fraud. For example, in 2014, an Indian woman who lived in England got fraud from her connections through Facebook and it lasted for 10 years until she knew who the person behind the fraud was. In addition, this story has been a documentary film by Netflix to increase awareness of the impact of using social media, especially for women. However, there are also many advantages that people can gain from social media such as job vacancies information. People can get news about which company or when those companies open for recruitment. For example, there was a group on Facebook containing 115,678 people who gathered to exchange information regarding job vacancies and the tests to become stewardesses. In addition, the article from BBC News reported that information from informal resources has been helpful to the aviation crew. To conclude, although the use of social networking websites might lead to false information, I do believe that with more awareness and caution, people also can get an advantage from it.