One way to solve problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

In order to adress the busy traffic issue, instead of funding overground or underground trains, investing in airborne trains is more logical solution. While sky trains both swift and are able to carry many passenger at ones, their cost is too high and its engineering requires advanced techniques. Utilizing sky trains has been one of the best alternatives so as to alleviate the busy car traffic for 2 decades. Owing to this development, major cities, such as Tokyo and Los Angeles was able to decrease the number of automobiles driven. There is a massive reason for choosing this advanced transportation system, which is decreased commute time. Since these vehicles never encounter any other train on their trajectory, they are able to move quick. Moreover, these trains are as large as other trains. Therefore, speed and capacity provide a cause to mass use. However, the technology and the infrastructure of sky trains is still new for many countries. There are numerous massive cities, which are located in developing countries. Although these trains are requirement for theie these citizens, their engineering capacity and budget is not enough to build these systems. Providing this service is not only related to manifacturing trains but also tied to creating suitable ways. Furthermore, such meticulous works need massive investments, which push this project further back in their plans. Take Bangkok as an example. As they are facing various problems, such as housing, sky trains may not be even considered. In conclusion, the fast and large nature of sky trains provide a smart solution to traffic jammings; yet, the cost of infrastructure and requirement of high engineering makes it impossible to be built in less affluent cities.