Write about the following topic: Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Truth is sometimes hidden or manipulated in everyday conversations. At times, people believe it is more beneficial to lie rather than sharing truthful thoughts. In my opinion, being dishonest in particular situations is far more appropiate than giving transparent speeches. In this essay I will discuss why I hold this viewpoint. The first point to consider is that hiding the truth can help people to succeed in the working world. Showing unrealistic professional profiles has proven to be effective in people ´s promotion. The reason for this is that recruiters tend to trust this information offering dishonest candidates great job opportunities. This means that truthful people are negatively judged by the companies as they lack in interesting skills compared with their liers competitors. Another further consideration is the beneficial character of telling lies regarding people ´s social status. Take politicians as an example. If a candidate gives not realistic speeches, people will hold on to fake promises and provide him with more votes, building a solid social status as a result. Furthermore, lies may allow people to hide flaws in their personality and prevent them from prejudices, which makes them far more socially accepted. Nevertheless, this behaviour can pose several risks and negative consequences for those whose lies are discovered. To sum up, many people prefer showing dishonest behaviours in their social interactions instead of being truthful and transparent. Telling the truth can negatively affect citizens´ promotion in their professional path as well as their social status in the society. Personally, I recommend being always careful and hide the truth whenever it is neccessary to make a good social impression.