Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras. In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is ubiquitous that lots of digital monitoring systems are installed for a safe society in public, but the majority of people do not know whether their information is being recorded. Although they could infringe on personal rights respectively, looking form the universal perspective, it would be useful to keep our magnificent society physically secure. On the other hand, technology related to private life can invade individual data, such as cell phone tracking and security cameras. Because those programmes are not only used for common intentions but also for commercial purposes. Besides, it is not even sure that personal records regulated by governments would not be open. For example, there were some cases that government employee disclosed the third one’s information to earn money. Nevertheless, having a well-rounded security system by using high-technology would be advantageous for greater worthy cause. Because it could rather prevent more brutal crimes by using those means. Also, it can foster welfare programs for the elderly or citizens who are marginalized from community. For instance, cell phone and card usage tracking are commonly use in investigating people who disappeared. Also as the average expectancy grows, the number of aged living alone is increasing. So it could be the approaches to defend those in the blind spot. In conclusion, there are possibilities whoever could be the victims of abused technology. However, I support not using monitoring systems in public for the reasons only for disregard for rights too conservative. One’s life can be protected once social network is stable and the gross of security degree could be higher otherwise we use those tools.