Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

In recent years, as techonologies in transportation keep developing, many more people are intend to buy a car or a renewable energy car instead of a bicycle. This trend can be a annoucement to the governments that affected by various factors, the carbon emmisions will continue to increase if they do not take any steps to try to solve that. Before making a decision of which policies to use, the government need to figure out that what is the reason of that phenomenon. One primary reason is that time is getting increasingly important in daily life. Whatever lazy, tiring from work or school, or having a lot of issues to deal with, time is always valuable, especially for today's high level of treatment to time arrangements. For instance, employers, in particular, are busy travelling from one place to another. As a result, due to their attention to the efficiency of time using, they will treat their road- time spending as a waste, which means that they will be the main part who appreciate the convenience of cars, such as air conditions and faster speed. Another reason why bicycles are under-consumtion and under-using is that the safety of bicycles using cannot be protected. Substantially, because of the small size of a bicycle, the difficulty to steal one is really low. Moreover, it is really dangerous for adults or kids to ride a bike through a crossroads. To overcome the worse situation, the government can try out many incentive or protection policies. Firstly, subsidies on bicycles industry can be a significantly useful tool to reduce the price of bicycles, leading to higher quantity demanded. Though that need more government expenditure, the profits after a long term can be incredibly well, which can prove that is a worthy action. What's more, advertising and education about the advantages of riding a bicycle will directly make an impact on people's ideas about the choosing of transportations. Highlighting those like improved health and diminished carbon emissions can promote public awareness. Additionally, making some new traffic laws can also be necessary, for protecting the riders. In conclusion, the decline of bicycles use is primarily caused by the high-speed work life and the safety problems. However, that can be solved by several policies, including subsidies and promotions. With those effective plans, it is possible to excess the original consumption of bicycles, and societies can also get benefits from better environment condition.