Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been contentious debates over the consequences of the time children spent on television, videos and computer games. Some people believe that it can positively affect some children's abilities, while others argue that it might lead to detrimental consequences on them. Despite the differing views, I am inclined to believe, that either points of views are equally correct since these activities tend to foster creativity or memory, to name a few. Conversely, the children who make an abussive use of these activities are more likely to develop fewer social skills or some other cognitive skills. On the one hand, television, video and computer games are created in order to entertain people, and particularly, children. Even the most violent format among all of them have proved to activate some areas of the brain co-related to creativity and spontaneousness. Moreover, some of them are utilized for therapies and social illness treatments. Another positive skill which is trained by playing videogames of watching TV is critical thinking, since these options are generally a wise alternative to acquire a wide range of knowledge, usually learnt by reading books. On the other hand, there are several concerns that might show up when the exposure to these elements is irresponsible. Despite the beneficial qualities known, the uncontrolled and extended use of them can decrease critial abilities such as concentration, creativity memory, among others. It is common knowledge that a high proportion of people who are subsequently exposed to any of these elements end up enrolling mental health treatments. Therefore, it is importante to control the addition to all of them. Following all the points mentioned above, it is importante to note that despite the benefits these activities provide, an addition to them have a detrimental outcome. By achiving a balance, the benefits of these practices might be extoled.