Many manufactured food and drink products contain hogh levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree.

Most of the tin-packed products have high sugar contents, which is affecting the health of the people, so increasing the price of such foods and drinks may limit their use. I strongly disagree with this statement, because, increasing cost will not affect the public, they will still buy such products. Secondly, other local companies may start producing alternative drinks. I will explain my opinion with examples. The foremost reason for disagreeing with the statement is that, majority of the people, buying such products, are usually from the upper to middle classes, so they will keep buying such drinks. People will keep purchasing these products even if their costs are too high, this is due to their dependency on such drinks. To illustrate, A study was conducted in Pakistan in 2012, due to rapid surge of oral cancer in the young generation, they found out cigarette smoking was the main culprit behind oral cancer, so government, raised the price of cigarettes to lower the rates of cancer, however, they failed, because people were still buying cigarettes, as they were dependent on them. Furthermore, if the rates of sugary foods are raised, so the local companies will start producing, like-wise products in less amount and they may have more sugar in them. For instance, in India, Pepsi drink was one of the most sold products in last 15 years, however, due to some reasons, its import was banned for 01 month, however, local industries started producing alternative drinks, with similar colour and taste, but when food regulatory authority inspected this drink, they discovered, that this drink had similar 35 times more sugar in it and was unhealthy. To conclude, sugar -based products are dangerous for the people, as this increases heart disease and causes obesity, but increasing the price of foods that have sugar will not stop people from buying them.