Nowadays transportation is a major problem in every developing city. Many people opine that it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than in public transport system. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this developed world, transportation is one of the heated topics. Many believe that the government should focus on spending more money on roads and highways rather than on public means of transport to solve the transportation problems of developing cities. I completely disagree with that notion. In my opinion, one of the major issues in terms of transportation in developing cities is traffic jams which can be solved by focusing more on public vehicles rather than wasting money on constructing more roads. To begin with, introducing more public vehicles like bigger buses and trains can transport a huge number of people all at once. For instance, traffic jams are seen more in suburbs where there are no access to trains and buses. People are forced to buy cars and motorbikes due to limited public vehicles. Thus, if public transport is easily available, every family member of a household will not require a separate car which will ultimately improve air pollution as well. Secondly, critics argue that improving the roads and the highways could solve this issue. It is true that widening roads and constructing more underground motorways could potentially decrease a certain percentage of the traffic jam. However, it also brings other issues such as road accidents. For example, a huge percentage of accidents occur in motorways. To conclude, even though spending more budget on roads could potentially decrease a few transport issues but i still believe that focusing on improving public transport is a key. The government should make public transport like trains accessible in every corner of developing countries.