In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, the number of people choosing to read ebooks increases rapidly throughout the years. This trend leads to the question whether the advantages of using ebooks outweigh the disadvantages. I strongly believe that e-book should be seen as a positive development of technology. The design of ebooks is based on efficiency and the effort to save the environment. Ebooks are considered convenient and easy to carry around. As a result, the efficiency offered by ebooks allows the reader to access the book anytime and anywhere. Furthermore, using ebooks also helped to save the environment. The main material of paper books is paper that comes from the tree, whereas ebooks are based on online platforms. Many studies show that the production of books oftenly damages the environment. As a result, most erosion in the forest was caused by illegal logging. However, ebooks do have drawbacks. By reading through ebooks devices for a long time, it might cause a long-term eye issue. Based on several studies, the screen that emits the lights triggers the damage of human’s vision. In that case, many readers have to use specific glasses to help their eyes adjust with the screen light. Hence, to prevent this effect, the readers should take a regular break during reading. To conclude, although using ebooks likely leads to long-term health problems, their advantages are still significant. I firmly believe using ebooks is way better than paper books as it is convenient and environmentally friendly for the reader so it clearly outweighs the disadvantages.