Some opine that individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. They think that we must return to older and more traditional values such as respect for the elderly people and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that greed and egoism are the main traits of our society. Many opine that we need to stick with more conventional values and have more respect for the older generation and the local community. This essay completely agrees with this statement. Firstly, many people are only interested in their income these days and are extremely ego-centric; secondly, it is essential that we preserve traditional values and give more respect to elderly people if we want to have a bright future for the next generations. One of the principal problems of modern society is greed. People nowadays are often only interested in filling their pockets, and, as a result, they forget about morality and become unimaginably cocky and selfish. The principal example of greed is billionaires. Mostly, these people have no moral values are addicted to money and permanently wish to get more, which often results in personal tragedies and in some cases even leads to crimes and other law violations. When it comes to traditional values such as showing more respect for the older generation, I opine that it is crucially important. In order to create a better world and give our children a future, we need to remind ourselves what our ancestors and parents played in our lives, thus showing complete support, understanding and kindness. For instance, Arabic countries are well known for how the older generation is treated by the government, which provides them with decent pensions. To sum up, traditional values are vital and, if we want us and the next generations to live in a better world, we need to stick to them.