More and more people in the city live in homes with small spaces or no outdoor areas. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

In today’s society, with the growth of population in the city, the number of individuals who live in homes with limited spaces or no outdoor sector has increased. From this phenomenon, I believe that it is a negative development. Firstly, the comfort level of the living environment could be dropped, which might affect people ’s physical and mental health. For instance, residents who live in small spaces are lacking enough areas to move, and people would decrease in the volume of activities, which can affect individuals’ health. Secondly, lacking outdoor areas might limit residents from doing some outside activities such as gardening, taking a walk, and some simple leisure activities. It is well-known that these activities play a significant role in improving residents’ emotions and relieving their stress. Thus, if people stay at home for a long time, that will make people be in a bad mood or their stress cannot be relieved. Furthermore, the live model of high-density might have stress on the city’s infrastructure, like water support, electric support and traffic system. For example, if the city’s infrastructure is not good, people living in this area would suffer a shortage of water and electricity or gases. At the same time, it would increase noise and pollution. In conclusion, I believe that people living in small spaces is a negative development. While some argue that the high-density live model could avoid the waste of soil-resource, and can make the city more efficient and sustainable, I think the government should prioritize residents’ physical and mental health, as well as improve the city’s efficiency and save resources, and make a well-funded society.