Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many grown-up individuals are keen to entertain themselves by playing video games these days. This occurs since the internet has firmly embedded into our daily life and it should be seen as a positive development. It is opined that adults prefer to spend their free time playing computer games more than ever before. The reality is, that it was never simpler to buy and download a video game than in this IT century. Without a doubt, numerous kinds of games and genres, from Civilization strategies to Battlefield shooters, as well as thousands of other games which are always available on such platforms as Steam, are one of the easiest and most entertaining ways to spend free time. A recent study conducted by British scientists concluded that the percentage of adults who play video games daily increases by more than 10% each year. When it comes to whether or not it should be seen as a positive or negative development, I think it is mostly the positive one. To begin, modern life is quite stressful for many, especially for 9-5 employees, but, thanks to the Internet and video games, these individuals now have a way to avoid depression by playing games on a computer or PlayStation, which proves this argument. Furthermore, online games are a perfect alternative and an option to keep in touch with your friends, who also like to be part of online gaming. The prime example of this would be the COVID-19 time, when the entire world was locked down, and online games were the only option to stay sane and overcome this rough period. To sum up, the number of adults who prefer to play video games in their free time is growing and it should be considered as a positive development due to its multiple advantages.