The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that improving people's lives should be the main aim of science. This essay strongly agrees with the statement because historically, science was proven to benefit people's lives both directly and indirectly. Firstly, science improves people's lives through direct scientific discoveries, such as medicine that could cure many illnesses. Before the widespread education of medicine and health, like in the medieval era, people could easily die because of a disease that is seen as an ordinary disease today. For example, influenza was seen as a deadly disease back then. Nonetheless, after the discovery of vaccines, influenza is now considered a common illness that is easily treated. This illustrates that science, through medical discoveries, could save people's lives significantly. Secondly, indirect scientific innovations also benefit many people's lives, such as the invention of the steam engine. While the discovery of many engineering machines is actually meant to increase certain economic activities' efficiency, they could also improve many people's lives indirectly. For example, the discovery of the steam engine by James Watt contributed to the mass production of goods which created the Industrial Revolution. As a result, many countries saw a significant increase in income per capita that improved many people's lives. That is to say, by contributing to the economy, indirect innovations in science could improve people's lives greatly. To conclude, this essay strongly agrees that the most crucial aim of science should be to improve people's lives. This is because the historical evidence show that the direct benefits of science, such as medicine or the indirect benefits of science, such as mechanical engineering, significantly improved many people's lives in the past.