These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantage of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, mobile phones and the Internet have become very important by which individuals connect to each other socially. I personally believe that the drawbacks of dependence on the Internet and mobile phones outweigh the benefits because while it makes communication easier and helps people multitask, people do not communicate face-to-face, and it makes people lazy. People do not communicate face-to-face because of dependence on the Internet and mobile phones. People are not interested in face-to-face open discussions, meetings, and catching up with their friends and colleagues anymore. Moreover, people have become very lazy. They do not love to go out of their houses to meet up with their friends because they have alternative options for communication like mobiles and the Internet. For example, the young generation in Australia, do not communicate face-to-face because they find it boring and time-consuming. Therefore, I believe that dependence on mobile phones and the Internet actually restricts real human communication. However, with the help of mobile phones and the Internet individuals can easily communicate with each other whenever and wherever they want. When they get time they can call, send messages, arrange meetings through video calls and so on. Moreover, Technology helps them to multitask, and therefore, they can save their time. They chat with their friends and families while commuting to their workplaces, or while doing physical exercise. For instance, many people in Japan, talk with their families over phones while running on footpaths. However, I personally believe that face-to-face communication is more important than virtual communication. In conclusion, while dependence on mobile phones and the Internet has made communication easier, and allows people to multitask, I personally believe that the disadvantages of mobile phones and the Internet outweigh the advantages because they restrict face-to-face communication and make people lazy.