The rate of zoos in many countries has grown up, and it is commonly believed that they are cruel and ought to be banned. In my opinion, I disagree with this view because zoos can help animals in many different aspects.

The number of zoos in many countries has grown, and it is commonly believed that they are cruel and ought to be banned. In my opinion, I disagree with this view because zoos can help animals in many different aspects. Firstly, zoos can help protect animals from hunters. In other words, when animals are in the wild, hunters can easily hunt them for their body parts, such as fur, skin, and many more, and if this keeps going on, their number will decrease, and maybe in the future, they will go extinct. However, if they are in zoos, they will live longer because they will be protected. For example, in Malaysia, the number of Malayan Tigers has increased because they are protected in zoos from hunters. Thus, zoos can provide a safe environment for the animals. Secondly, zoos can help breed some endangered species. That is to say, some animals are considered endangered because they are not able to reproduce due to some factors, namely genetic and environmental. Nevertheless, when they are in zoos, scientists can do more research on them and help them breed, which can help them increase their populations. For instance, in China, the government has spent a lot of money on a successful panda breeding program, which has been done in many zoos. Hence, zoos can help increase the number of animals. To sum up, I believe that they should not be abolished because they can help animals from poachers and increase their number. If there are more zoos, the number of endangered animals will decrease