Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some children use their time for their smartphones every day. The reason why they spend a lot of time is that smartphones have many apps which children is addicted to, for example, YouTube apps, Instagram apps and so on. With regard to YouTube apps, children love to watch the youtuber who is famous among the children. In addition, the apps recommend new videos after finishing the previous movie, so children cannot stop watching videos. On the other hand, Instagram apps show children the series of new information, which is about interesting younger's cultures, so children cannot stop scrolling up the information, therefore they use much time for smartphones. In my opinion, spending hours on their phone has positive and negative aspects. Fast, positive feature is that children can make good relationships with friends due to getting new information from smartphones. For instance, in their school, children enjoy talking about famous youtubers and new information, so children need these contents to communicate with their friends. If children could not get the contents, they would not get in friend's conversations. In contrast, there are negative features about using smartphones too. Most serious problem is children lose their time for studying or talking with their family. For example, in Japan, some families prohibit using the smartphone, because children don't do their homework or the arrangements of housework. Additionally, some children lose their score of tests in their school. Thus, using the smartphone has negative influence to youngers. To sum up, smartphones have interesting apps thus children use much time for them. Furthermore, using smartphones have positive and negative prospects.