Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that there are ample consequences for consuming high levels of sugar since the government impose taxes on cuisine items with high sugar content. Some people think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree with this viewpoint. This essay will analyse both the ideas including my opinion in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the opponents of this notion. Firstly, it raises concerns about potential socio-economic inequities. Critics argue that these taxes disproportionetly impact low-income families who rely heavily on budget-friendly, sugar products in their diets. They view it as a regressive tax which helps to deepen the inequality that exists in society. Additionally, they believe that consumers, when empowered with proper knowledge, should be responsible for their own dietary choices. Therefore, there must be another possible solution such as awareness campaigns promoting healthy lifestyles. On the other hand, proponents of this notion claim that by making sugar products more expensive. Meanwhile, it encourages people to consume healthy meals rather than choosing costly junk food which aids them in saving money. Furthermore, decrease in the demand for unhealthy snacks which causes numerous health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease, leading to a healthier, less burdened healthcare system. For instance, it has been researched that the consumption of fast food is an upsurging problem which increased the obesity problem in India by 30% from the last five years. Additionally, the revenue generated from the tax will be used for the betterment of the country and in subsidised fresh feed programs in low-income communities. To conclude, although imposing tariffs on sugar products creates some issues for average earners by making their regular foods costly, it can be solved by subsidising healthy foodstuff items and even helps to create an environment where everyone is healthy.