Some people say the best way to reduce crime is by using prison sentences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, crime rates have increased significantly. While many people have the perspective that using long prison sentences is the most effective solution to address this issue, others claim that there are more effective alternative measures to deter crime. From my own viewpoint, I believe that we should use other alternative solutions instead of prison punishment. On the one hand, giving prison sentences does wonders for the battle against crime. Firstly, this method is considered as a deterrent for criminals. It helps criminals to know what will happen if they have wrong behaviors. Therefore, criminals will think carefully about whether they should be doing wrong things. In addition, a time in incarceration may help rehabilitate offenders. This can be explained by the fact that people use their time in prison to think about their mistakes and feel remorse for their illegal behaviors. As a result, when being released, they will be afraid of engaging in some activities leading to criminality. On the other hand, there are many methods to address this issue. Firstly,opening some classes, delivering speeches relating to the law is a good method to help people avoid engaging in evil. This is because these classes will teach about the law, praise people ’s awareness. So, this prevents people from breaking the law. Moreover, equipping more modern devices such as cameras is also a spectacular way. For example, when having more cameras on the street the criminal considering committing a crime will be afraid. Therefore, the proportion of crime will decrease significantly. In conclusion, using long prison sentences is an effective measure to reduce crime. However, there are also many solutions should be taken to ensure the society.