Some say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

THERE IS A DEBATE OVER THE ROLE OF SPORT IN PEOPLE 'S LIVES. WHILE SOME BELIEVE THAT IT HAS PARAMOUNT IMPORTANCE IN SOCIETY, HOWEVER OTHERS SAID THAT IT IS BENEFICIAL ONLY AS A LEISURE ACTIVITY. THIS ESSAY WILL DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS IN SUPPORT OF THE FORMER. ON THE ONE HAND, ACCORDING TO SOME SPORT NOTHING MORE THAN AN ACTIVITY. PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT, IT HELPS REDUCE THE LEVEL OF STRESS, ALSO IT IS BENEFICIAL FOR BURNING CALORIES AND MAKE PEOPLE TO FEEL REFRESH AND STAY CALM. IT BRINGS PEOPLE TOGETHER AND RESULTED IN ENGAGING VARIOUS PHYSICAL ACTIVITIES. ON THE OTHER HAND WHICH I SUPPORT, ADVOCATES OF SPORT CLAIM THAT IT HAS A GREAT ROLE IN SOCIETY. IN THE FIRST PLACE, SPORT IS A WAY FOR BRINGING PEOPLE TOGETHER, AND IT IS ONE OF THE KEY FACTOR WHICH LED TO SOCIALIZING. FOR INSTANCE, RESEARCHS SHOW THAT PEOPLE MAY BROADEN THEIR CYCLE OF FRIEND BY ENGAGING SOME SPORT ACTIVITIES. APART FROM THAT, IT CAN LED TO GAINING RECOGNITION OF PROMINENT SPORTSPEOPLE AND SPORTS' CLUBS, IT RAISES THE AWARENESS. THROUGH SPORTS, PEOPLE CAN GET DEEP KNOWLEDGE ABOUT ANY COUNTRY WHICH THEY NEVER HEARD ABOUT IT. TO CONCLUDE, BOTH SIDES MIGHT BE TRUE, HOWEVER I BELIEVE THAT SPORT IS MORE THAN A LEASURE ACTIVITY, IT IS A WAY FOR SHAPING SOCIETY.