Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

Many older people suggest that children should study history, ensuring that the future generation will not attempt to do the same mistakes while some people encourage others to focus on future rather than prioritize the past. From my perspective, both approaches hold merit, and achieving balance between them is essential. On the one hand, it is undeniably that these days the educational system has made history into memorized subjects, neglecting the true propose of this subject. For instance, teachers in many Thai schools force their students to remember the former Thai rulers' names in chronological order or remember the past conflict in detail without analyzing the cause. This lesson does not offer advantages to young people and only results in overlooking the intrinsic value of this subject. Additionally, opponents of learning history point out that people should emphasize the importance of future which can be changed based on our actions todays compared to the undone past. On the other hand, there are strong arguments in the necessity of history. By understanding humans' behaviours and mistakes can prevent those to occur again. For example, analyzing the root causes of world war I and II definitely has the potential to prohibit another world war. People can learn from history that the adverse outcomes of these wars were tremendously dreadful, as they leaded to millions of death and a stagnant economic growth. In conclusion, learning history contributes to the vital knowledge which can prevent the same mistaken actions. However, schools should emphasize teachers to provide lessons in the proper way, enabling the true worth of this subject.