Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that local attractions such as museum and historical sites are usually visited by outsiders and not residents. The primary reason for this is that local people are usually unaware of them and are busy, and the main solution is the publicity campaign. The pricipal reason for local population not visiting musuems and historical places is that people are usually unaware of them. They do not have any idea what these attractions can offer. Also these places are not promoted in ads or in TV commercials. On the other hand, the tourist usually get to know about them through travel guide and they are usually the part of their travel package. For instance, almost 90% of the international travel package available on the internet include visits to these kind of places. The most viable solution to the above mentioned problem is the public awareness compaign. If enough knowlegde is provided to the local people through print media and phampelets and through the educational institutions public will come to know about them and most likely will visit them. For example, in Japan a local town had run a similiar campaign focusing mainly on its resident and as a result not only the attendance of local folks increased at thaier historical sites but their revenue also swelled. In conclusion, the main reason for historical attractions to be visited by foreigners is the lack of knowledge and interest among the residents and the most viable sloution is a publicity campaign targeting the local audience and educational institutions.