In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many nations have increased the age of retirement. This essay will argue that despite the benefits of less burden on governments and saving of valuable resources, the decrease in number of jobs available and people dissatisfaction means that the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, raising the retirement age saves government lots of money. As people are working for longer periods, it has decreased the amount of money and resources spend Change the form of the verb spent show examples on hiring new employees. Furthermore, this means that age at which pension starts has also increased, which could also decrease the burden on tax payers. For instance, by increasing the retirement age to 67, National Health Service UK is saving over 1 billlion dollars annually. However, this is not the ideal solution to save resources as there are otherways in which resources can be saved. On the other hand, people are generally dissatisfied over this decision. Many people had made plans for what they want to do in their 60s, but as they have to work now and are not eligible for pensions, this means they have to postpone their plans. Moreover, because of older people working later in life, the number jobs that were available has also decreased. This has resulted in an increase in unemployement which has also angered the younger population. For example, the survey conducted by Cambridge University found out that,if government had not increased the retirement age, the unemployment rate in UK would have been half of what it is now. In conclusion, although raising the age has saved governments valuable resources, the drawbacks of increase in number of jobless people indicates that there are disadvantages than the benefits.