There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

In our modern day and age, academic excellence in school is an important key to ensuring better chances for tertiary education and future jobs. Some parents want their children to focus on essential academic subjects rather than sports and life skills classes. I believe that young people need a balanced education to help them succeed in their future lives. It is undeniable that core subjects such as mathematics and science are required in most jobs in today's work market and students with a strong background in such subjects have a better likelihood of working in fields such as medicine and engineering. For example, students who have high scores in standardized exams and university admission exams are more likely to be accepted in highly esteemed centres compared to students with lower GPAs. Thus, it is understandable that parents would aspire that their children get the strongest education in school to secure better future opportunities. On the other hand, most students after graduating from high school and becoming independent from their families they are faced with real-life struggles such as keeping up with personal finance and basic housekeeping skills. Also, on social and professional levels they might lack time management or communication skills which are crucial for a successful career. For instance, a social study in the US found that 45% of university students struggle to manage their own personal budget and pay bills on time. Therefore, Real-life skills can help young people become well-rounded individuals who can thrive beyond life with their families. In conclusion, a well-balanced education that combines core knowledge with other skills ensures that younger generations will have the appropriate tools to help them through life.