In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In many places, people stay in hostels when they are in universities, while in others they stay with their families. Although, when students are away from their relatives they miss them and have to do their own work, the benefits of the environment they get and the time they save when they are away means that the adantages far outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, when these young adults have to stay in different city than their family they miss them. That is because they can not visit them whenever they want, and this affects their health as well. Moreover, because of living alone they have to do their household chores, which also takes plenty of time and energy. For instance, University of buckhingham recently published a report indicating that on average stuedents spend 8 to hours per week on doing daily chores. However this can be managed by doing by proper planning and visiting family regularly in vacations. On the other hand, when a young person stays in accommodations away from home, it provides him or her an independent environment that help them in character development. Also, if they were in their homes, they have to spend hours daily while travelling to and from their homes to universities, which is saved and can be used for doing other things. For example, in Karachi university students waste 2 to 3 hours daily while travelling from their house to educational institutes. In conclusion, although living closer to family and the comfort students get in their home has some benefits but the the benefits they get from living hostels in the form of character building means there are more advantages.